PDA

View Full Version : 88' LX-i, needs more power

02GTP
02-19-2008, 09:36 PM
hello all. new to hondas and this site. my 12.7@112 car is having some issues now so i picked myself up a 88' LX-i. 5spd, fuel injected. the body is a bit rough but the engine is perfect. makes 130psi compression across the board, no probs with leak down, doesnt burn a drop of oil, new timing belt, plugs, wires, cap and rotor.

ive done simple stuff like remove the cat, CAI, timing advance and some weight reduction but i want to make it faster. the clutch is going so i will be doing that and a light weight flywheel, but is there anything else i can do for cheap? i dont want to do a motor swap. i know 0 about these cars so i was hoping u guys could help me out, thank you.

and yes iam mechanically inclined, i work in a shop and have done many projects. just not hondas.

MessyHonda
02-20-2008, 12:00 AM
http://www.3geez.com/forum/showthread.php?t=61469

02GTP
02-20-2008, 09:53 AM
thanks for the info, but a few more questions. if i put in a cam, how much power will i get with stock tb/intake mani/head? and also if i put in a cam, do i have to tune the car or just put it in and go.

skycam_313
02-20-2008, 10:10 AM
hello all. new to hondas and this site. my 12.7@112 car is having some issues now so i picked myself up a 88' LX-i. 5spd, fuel injected. the body is a bit rough but the engine is perfect. makes 130psi compression across the board, no probs with leak down, doesnt burn a drop of oil, new timing belt, plugs, wires, cap and rotor.

ive done simple stuff like remove the cat, CAI, timing advance and some weight reduction but i want to make it faster. the clutch is going so i will be doing that and a light weight flywheel, but is there anything else i can do for cheap? i dont want to do a motor swap. i know 0 about these cars so i was hoping u guys could help me out, thank you.

and yes iam mechanically inclined, i work in a shop and have done many projects. just not hondas.