PDA

View Full Version : Lots of Questions

zAFW
02-21-2008, 10:40 PM
Hey everyone! Newbie here.

I got my hands on a Honda Accord LXi-EX '87 Fuel Injected Hatchback Automatic for about a month now. I think it used to be a manual but someone changed it to A/T. No idea. I don't know where this model stands. It seems everyone refers to this model as just LXi, which makes me wonder about the EX part ?

Anyhow, it's a nice car, one thing led to another and I just pretty much decided I want to rebuild it with style and performance. Better than making a loan and buying a new car. I don't know too much about cars and I don't have much money to spend since I'm a F/T student, I'm currently enrolled in an auto mechanic class. So if there are hard repairs I do it there. I would say I know how to tune up my car. So.. I know SOMETHING.

Anyhow I have problems and I was wondering if anyone had suggestions to them.

Does anyone know where the wires for the door sensor goes? I looked under and I found that the previous owner was horrible, for some reason they cut the driver side door sensor. Now the car doesn't know if I open the door. It's a green and brown wire I think. I've looked around and have no idea.

The shift lever doesn't light up. I found out that nobody bothered to plug it in, it looks like it was cut though. I can power it up by using a red wire under the steering wheel but.. doing that makes it stays lit unless I unplug it. Any idea where this wire goes?

The PGM-FI light goes on after 20 minutes of driving. It blinks 12 times. I think it refers to the EGR valve but I have no idea how to check that out.

4. Vacuum tubes.. #17 is disconnected and have no idea where it goes. It comes from the box to a small plastic cover next to it (I'm thinking a filter?) and out from there is where I'm lost. Looking at the diagram on the hood doesn't help.