PDA

View Full Version : no break presure... need input

labeledsk8r
02-29-2008, 12:00 PM
OK... well i JUST got my car back from getting the new clutch in... so today was the first day truely driveing it.... so im going along.. and i notice the car is haveing trouble stoping.... meh figured it was normal and continued my day.... well im driveing along and i go to stop for a red light... it catches a tiny bit... but i was still doing about 20 by the time i hit the light.... so ebrake was pulled to stop (and yes i tried pumping the breaks aswell) . i have tried driveing it around... and the car stops... but its got almost no pressure at all... almost as if its only useing the pesure of the pedal to stop... to me this sounds like break booster.... BUT im not a break expert... theres no leaks in the system.... the fluid i still full and no signs of a leak or missing fluid.... so does this sound like a break booster?? or what else could go rong to do this... and remember it stoped fine so it seemed last night...

**edit** and yes i just relized i spelled pressure rong rofl

Vanilla Sky
02-29-2008, 12:14 PM
Does it feel like you have to stand on your brakes, or does your foot hit the floor?

labeledsk8r
02-29-2008, 12:19 PM
Does it feel like you have to stand on your brakes, or does your foot hit the floor?

foot goes to the floor.... feels like theres a leak... but theres no fluid loss

Vanilla Sky
02-29-2008, 12:22 PM
I'm going to guess air. It doesn't take much of a leak to give you a really soft pedal. You could also have a rubber hose that's failed, but not ruptured.

labeledsk8r
02-29-2008, 12:24 PM
hmmm so how should i test and pin this down...? just jack it up and look for small wet points on the break lines? doesnt seem like its lost any fluid at all

DBMaster
02-29-2008, 12:29 PM