PDA

View Full Version : Need help removing cylinder head

HondaBob412
03-11-2008, 05:50 PM
hey everybody, im kinda new to the whole repair scene, and i know this is a pretty major operation, but i am pretty intelligent , so im going to try and do it. I blew a head gasket on my 1989 accord lx-i with the a20a3 engine. I need to replace this gasket as this is my only transportation to and from work, which i need to pay for school. Any advice on how to get started, useful tips, extensive instructions, links to more helpful sites/sources would be greatly appreciated. Thanks

turabaka
03-11-2008, 06:09 PM
first off. Welcome to the site.

I'd suggest getting a haynes manual for your car to start. They have invaluable knowledge. You'll also need to get a torque wrench. Some of the other guys on this site know more than I do though so I'll let them answer the question a little better.

Vanilla Sky
03-11-2008, 09:15 PM
Manuals cost money, though.

This manual is free, though. Scanned Honda Service manual.

http://www.3geez.com/forum/showthread.php?t=25137

Everything you need to know about your 3gee is there.

And yeah, stop by a Harbor Freight and pick up their 1/2 inch torque wrench. It's no Snap-On, but it's usually on "sale" for $16, and claims the same tolerance as the Snap-on. The members of the GRM forum love that TQ wrench for the price.

Demon1024
03-11-2008, 09:37 PM