PDA

View Full Version : home made exhaust

ianjk46conv
04-01-2008, 05:59 AM
well, i'm a noob on this forum.. I've read through a bunch of previous threads looking for some of my answers and have come to some conclusions. I own an 89 se-i which is running alright. When I rolled my truck I had to get something right away, so I found this car, with 185,000 miles for 600 dollars. I've had it for about a year and a half and so far I'm at 208,000. I've replaced the starter, altenator, plugs/wires/rotor & cap, air filter, fuel filter, sterio and speakers(had to re wire the whole car), changed trans fluid, upper control arms(ball joints) and bushings, brakes, and a battery.. I think that's it. Anyway, the exhaust is a whole different story. I've tossed the cat and flex pipe because they were leaking, and now the resonator is leaking. I tried patching that up yesterday, and let it sit over night to heal. If that doesn't work then i'm going to start from scratch. Can I just run a flex pipe and muffler? If so, I would like to purchase a round 4-5" muffler, don't care how long it is, and I would like it to sound as quite as possible. Also how long is the factory flex pipe?? My car shakes now that I don't have that on there, the whole exhaust is falling to pieces. Thanks all, happy according.
Ian

2drSE-i
04-01-2008, 06:35 AM
Welcome to the site man! SE-i Nice find man! Leather in decent condition? anywho, to answer your questions.......well i cant really answer them because i honestly dont know. Your best bet is to buy a muffler and flex pipe online and get it welded up at a local exhaust shop. Where are you located at?

ianjk46conv
04-01-2008, 06:52 AM