PDA

View Full Version : What is obd1?

Reptile
04-23-2008, 05:22 AM
I heard another user mention this and I tried doing a search to find out but was unable to get a description of what this is and what it does for our cars.

Can anyone help me out please?

86nlife2go
04-23-2008, 05:41 AM
OBD1 or OverActive Balla Disorder, Stage 1 in this case is what's wrong with 90% of todays youth....oh....wait, you meant...yeah. OBD1 allows you to tune and or check/diagnose your automobile using a computer system to run your vehicle

Reptile
04-23-2008, 05:53 AM
Is that like a stand alone fuel management system?

I am sorry I am really a bit of a newb at this. I want to learn, just could not find the info on my own.

And you are completely correct about todays youth! I laughed. :)

86nlife2go
04-23-2008, 05:55 AM
sorry man, here

On-Board Diagnostics, or OBD, in an automotive context, is a generic term referring to a vehicle's self-diagnostic and reporting capability. OBD systems give the vehicle owner or a repair technician access to state of health information for various vehicle sub-systems. The amount of diagnostic information available via OBD has varied widely since the introduction in the early 1980s of on-board vehicle computers, which made OBD possible. Early instances of OBD would simply illuminate a malfunction indicator light, or MIL, if a problem were detected—but would not provide any information as to the nature of the problem. Modern OBD implementations use a standardized fast digital communications port to provide realtime data in addition to a standardized series of diagnostic trouble codes, or DTCs, which allow one to rapidly identify and remedy malfunctions within the vehicle

Reptile
04-23-2008, 06:14 AM
Ok, then how would one utilize that in our cars?