PDA

View Full Version : noob here! i need some help...lol!

89T
04-27-2008, 06:19 AM
OK so i am not a noob, but i need some sugestions.

last fall, i just installed a 8 lb flywheel sprung 6 puck and clutch net 3x red pressure plate and a LSD.
I Was out with a friend doing some pulls. We take off from a light and the car went through 1st and 2nd fine, I pulled 3rd and still seemed fine. I got to the top of 3rd and it felt like the trans exploded(it pop-ed out of third). The trans would not go into any gear. I got the car stopped and still nothing it wouldn't go in to gear.i kill the motor and it would cycle through the gears fine except rev and 5th. i get the car home and pull the trans and open it up.
after 2 hours i couldn't find a dam thing wrong.
I started messing with the linkage and figured something must be bent. i pulled the linkage out of a spare installed it. I set the case on and it shifted fine.
i reinstalled the trans road tested it and all is good driving normally.
i went to do a 1st through 3rd pull. 1st was good 2nd was good and grind-grind 3rd.
the trans goes into 3rd easy at a lower rpm and normal shift.
when i try to shift into 3rd at high rpm and a fast shift or even a high rpm normal shift it will either grind or not go in at all.
all the gears and syncros look fine, there are no chips or excessive wear.
any suggestions?

russiankid
04-27-2008, 06:53 AM
Is the clutch adjusted correctly? I would get hard shifts into 3rd when my clutch cable had to much slack.

89T
04-27-2008, 07:42 AM
initialy i had left it where the stock clutch was set at and it would not go into gear.
i actually had to muscle the cable then adjust it to get it to shift into gear.
i adjusted it again because rev had a slight grind.
do you feel i need to adjust it even more? there is no play and the cable is tight as fuk.

ghettogeddy
04-27-2008, 08:17 AM
initialy i had left it where the stock clutch was set at and it would not go into gear.