PDA

View Full Version : Need New AC Compressor...

truble64
08-08-2008, 06:35 AM
I bought my 89 Se-i last month and the compressor was bad. It's going to be hot as hell here, and I can't afford to be driving my Escape back and forth to work, nor can I afford to spend a fortune having the compressor replaced. Sooooo....anyone have any suggestions of what to do, where to go. I live in Reading, PA. And, because I'm not good at doing that kind of stuff (I'm a girl and I'll admit it), I need help...

:devil:

2oodoor
08-08-2008, 06:53 AM
If you have a PNP there , I just bought a compressor with brackets and lines with a guarantee for around 25 bucks there. Had to pull it off myself though.
That would help.

Rendon LX-i
08-08-2008, 07:54 AM
im takening my off and i would sell it to you but thats going to b like a month....mine cold as hell right now

truble64
08-08-2008, 09:07 AM
What's PNP???

russiankid
08-08-2008, 09:10 AM
What type of compressor do you have now? Is it square or cylinder? Another issue is that R12 refrigerant is hard to find. I found a shop who has a little bit left and it will cost me $120 just to top off my system. So for you to actually get it working you'll have to convert to R134A. Also, I'm in Lincoln University and its not that hot, plus winter is coming.

I've never taken off an A/C compressor before, but it shouldn't be to hard. Also, how do you know your compressor is not working? Is it seized? Or nothing happens when you try to turn the A/C on?

2oodoor
08-08-2008, 09:10 AM
pull a part
pick a part
U-pull it

JY that have a set price list and you pull the parts yourself

truble64
08-08-2008, 09:27 AM
Yes, granted today, Friday is a beautiful day here in Chester County. BUT, it's only the beginning of August and August is the hottest month of the summer. Plus, I guess I'm thinking ahead for next summer.