PDA

View Full Version : New Member in Need of Help

ZeroLux
10-20-2008, 09:16 PM
Ok so here goes. I've had my car for about 3-4 months now, it's an '89 Accord LXi (A20A3) Automatic trans (ugh). Car has some issues. I am new to Honda's for the most part and various things I've tried so far have done little to no good. Any advice would be greatly appreciated since this is my only car at the moment and it's driving me quite insane.

1. Transmission seems to "hunt" at city speeds (between 40-60mph for the most part), feels like it's bumping from 4th to 3rd then back up again- repeatedly. Aggrivatingly. Makes the overall ride suck and makes me want to drive it into a tree at high speeds. I have been told there's a cable that might be out of adjustment but I was not given clear information concerning this. Possible? I have no idea how the automatic in this car functions so any information would be useful.

2. Random (lack of) Idle. Cold, Hot, Luke-Warm, this car has some serious issues with RPM's when out of gear. From a cold start in the morning she lingers around 2k, if I give her some juice and let up pretty quickly she'll break back to between 1500 and 2000 again and bounce randomly between the two. Once she's warm if I put it into N she might hold at 1100, she might bounce between 1100 and 1800-ish for no reason. The idler valve was recommended to me to be replaced by a local but at an estimated cost of almost $200 I'd like to explore alternatives first.

3. I'm pretty sure this next issue a combination of the trans/motor mount and the wild idle problem but shifting to Reverse in the morning is a pretty unpleasant experience for both car and driver. The trans slams back with some pretty decent force and jolts the whole car until the gear is seated and ready. I noticed a while back that it looks like the trans has now left a mark on the K member on the rear of the engine where it makes contact. Any decent fix for this?