PDA

View Full Version : New Kid on the Block

Blackbird_
01-09-2009, 07:26 AM
Greetings all,

I just entered into the 3Gee family last night. Got an 89 LXi Sedan (A/T). It's my first car by the way so I'm a little excited :rofl: I'm looking foward to learning more and fixing up my car. It's got ~220k on it. I'm not a mechanic (just had a lot of car trouble over the years) but I'm not afraid to buy some tools and jump right in - well as long as my transportation to college doesn't break :lol:

So I'm thinking a full tune up on this bad boy:

Change fluids (oil, tranny, brake, coolant)
Belts and battery were replaced like 2 weeks ago by previous owner

There are some niggling things that bothers me like someone siliconed the sunroof shut :uh: and there's a bad tint removal job done on it and the interior is dirty (how do I clean??)

Good to be here, and I'll be sure to search first lol

Edit: I saw someone on here is pushing 400k+. Is this for real?!?

Rendon LX-i
01-09-2009, 08:27 AM
Yes SIR its for real. these motors can be unstopable with great care. As far as of your tint it should just pell off but its a pain i used help of a unitly blade. Im guessing someone put siliconed for the fact the water was leaking so they got lazy and put that crap all over it. Welcome to 3geez

Demon1024
01-09-2009, 11:16 PM
boy that sounds like the car i was looking at in lowell.:)
welcome to the site man!
no kidding on the miles. got 2 over 300k now

Blackbird_
01-10-2009, 06:41 AM
Thanks guys! I actually got this car in Austin, TX. More worries tho :( 48 degrees outside and it won't start

Vanilla Sky
01-10-2009, 07:18 AM
Probably a cold battery. Did you try to jump start?

Blackbird_
01-10-2009, 07:40 AM