PDA

View Full Version : Problem with Blower when cold

nfs480
02-02-2009, 09:12 PM
Today is the second day i've had this problem (happened once last week too), I got into the car, started it up, and found out I had no blower. No matter which speed setting I chose it didn't work. The first time it started working again after about an hour and it worked for a week since and now today it doesn't work again. It only seems to happen on extremely cold days, I replaced the blower motor resistor this past summer when the med-high speed stopped functioning so that's new. Anyone have any ideas for what to check?

nfs480
02-03-2009, 12:44 PM
Ok, i'm going through the steps in the shop manual for diagnostics and for one of the steps it says to connect a jumper wire between the body ground and the BLU/BLK terminal. I've never done anything like this before and was wondering where the body ground is located and what i'd use as a jumper wire?

EDIT: Also, any tips on how to remove the blower speed switch would be most appreciated.

2ndGenGuy
02-03-2009, 01:48 PM
The body ground is just any ground that you can find. Usually just touching it to a bare piece of metal that's bolted to the body will work. If you can find a bolt on your firewall or near the door or something. You can also use anything as a jumper wire. Just gotta connect it from that spot they're talking about to the body. It won't, and can't shock you, so don't worry about holding the wires together with your hand.

nfs480
02-03-2009, 02:10 PM
All right, thanks. I tested the wiring and it read 12.13 volts so I know that is good. I'm still having problems with the whole jumpering thing. I got a long piece of copper wire but I can't seem to figure out where they want me to jumper it from. I'm on page 22-10 in the shop manual and they're talking about jumpering from the BLU/BLK wire to the body ground yet one step before they asked me to plug that wire back into the blower. How am I supposed to jumper it then?

nfs480