PDA

View Full Version : getting a new water pump

slacker
03-25-2009, 04:45 PM
Hi all,

The water pump on my 88 LX has recently started making weird noises so I will be getting it replaced soon. I bought the new part and it's ready to be installed.

The car has approximately 174,000 miles on it and I do not know if anything has ever been replaced other than the radiator and spark plug wires as I've just recently purchased it.

I was wondering if it would be a good idea to get the timing belt, tensioner, and accessory belts replaced, too, while I'm at it so I don't have to deal with it later.

Also, should I get it done myself or get someone to do it for $150? I've never done this before and I have no experience so I'm not sure how hard it is.

Any advice would be appreciated. Thanks all!

Civic Accord Honda
03-25-2009, 04:49 PM
yeah i would recommend doing everything at once so you don't have to worry about it anymore.

and i think it would be a good learning experience for you to do it your self. but i would recommend downloading the manual and reading the process of doing it and then if u feel u cant do it then pay to have it done.

also when doing the timing belt it is about the same time u should adjust valves. this is very easy and you should be able to do it your self
heres a how to on that
http://www.3geez.com/forum/showthread.php?t=39319

if you dont have a feeler gauge you can pick one up from vatozone for around $6

lostforawhile
03-25-2009, 04:56 PM
the water pump can be replaced without taking off the timing belt if needed. it's external not internal.

BITESIZE
03-25-2009, 04:58 PM
the water pump can be replaced without taking off the timing belt if needed. it's external not internal.

Yep, it's not very difficult at all if you like working in confined areas.

slacker
03-25-2009, 04:58 PM
yeah i would recommend doing everything at once so you don't have to worry about it anymore.