PDA

View Full Version : How do I replace the tie rods?

nfs480
06-16-2009, 07:21 PM
I've watched a few youtube videos, read my haynes manual, and my factory shop manual on this subject and it doesn't look to difficult, but I know that that really doesn't mean it will actually be easy.

What special tools am I gonna need and what do you guys think the odds are of me being able to remove these very rusty tie rods without having my car towed to a shop on a flat bed?

I've searched 3geez for more info on tie rods but the search requires more than three letter words and the threads I could find didn't really provide any type of step-by-step. I'm also planning on replacing the brake pads and rotors on the front end at the same time which is also something i've never done before, any tips on that?

87roach
06-16-2009, 07:42 PM
http://www.3geez.com/forum/showthread.php?t=68981

This is when I changed out mine, it wasn't really all that hard... sort of tricky in some spots just because the way the nut's had been put on. Had to bend an open end wrench for the driver's side was the only thing we had to "modify" to make it work.

Good luck.

nfs480
06-16-2009, 07:58 PM
I'm just planning on doing the outer tie rods, not the inners, which appear to be what caused most of the difficulty in that video.

AZmike
06-17-2009, 05:47 AM
The tie rods are part of the inner tie rod ends. That's why you're getting advice on how to remove them. The part you're referring to is the outer tie rod end.

nfs480
06-17-2009, 09:21 AM
Ok, well I just need advice on the outer tie rod ends. Any ideas on how to get badly rusted tie-rod ends to unscrew from the inner tie rods? Also, the bleeder bolt on my driver's side caliper is stuck, any tips for getting that loose without breaking it?

import racer
06-17-2009, 10:00 AM
Penetrating fluid and heat.

Dr_Snooz
06-17-2009, 05:29 PM