PDA

View Full Version : Help needed setting Timing and belt install on build

parkersnine
09-26-2009, 06:57 AM
O.K. We have a Haynes but since engine was completely disassembled need some pointers on the correct method. We put number one @ TDC but at this point dunno if on compression stroke. Dot on bottom of crank timing belt sprocket is @ 6:30 position The head was completely torn down and rebuild @ local machine shop and assembled on block .The distributor is out. Have not moved the Cam sprocket to see were the line is on right face back of camshaft sprocket . Hate to be ignorant but it seems that there are plenty of you that have been here before and this is my first build Thanks!

ecogabriel
09-26-2009, 08:02 AM
Cylinder 1 at TDC on compression stroke means both intake and exhaust valves CLOSED.
Take a look at the head and you'll see the position of the other valves when they are open.

Dr_Snooz
09-26-2009, 09:09 PM
Don't worry about compression stroke vs. intake or exhaust strokes on the bottom half. Just set the #1 cylinder to TDC and the head to TDC and you'll be fine. Make sure to check them again after installing the timing belt because they can move while you're yanking on the belt.

parkersnine
09-27-2009, 05:11 AM
The valves on number one were closed when head was installed.(Almost 100% sure) Have not checked any other reference point. How can I double check to make sure that the head number 1 is on compression stroke?

Dr_Snooz
09-27-2009, 07:27 AM
There are two little lines on the cam gear and the word "Up". The lines should line up with the top of the head while the "Up" points up. Honda's done it this way since at least 1976. The Haynes manual should tell you this. If it doesn't, use the factory manual available here (http://honda.roadpwnage.com/manuals/pages/usdm-accord-1989-full.php) instead. Good luck with the build, I finally got my engine back in the bay yesterday. Didn't get anything hooked up, but's no longer on the shop floor.

parkersnine