PDA

View Full Version : I pulled the fuses, now where's the short? 88 lxi

inwaterby8
03-30-2010, 03:31 PM
Ok, I'm a total Newb here, and I've searched 3Geez for hours over the last several days trying not to make a duplicate entry, but my 88 lxi coupe is killing me, and my batteries.

I bought this car for $700 a couple of weeks ago. It has a history of not holding a charge - the lady who had it before would charge her battery, then run the car for 5 miles a day to and from work. Everywhere she went, she'd unhook the negative battery cable to park. This would be good for a total of 20 minutes of driving time if her lights were on.

Sounded simple enough, I'd just bolt on a new alternator (which tested bad). I guess you guys are having a chuckle on that one...

1 axel
1 new alternator
1 new battery
1 new valve cover gasket to boot!
Lots of skin off my knuckles
and a whole weekend gone.

and the car is draining an amazing 4.5 Volts on my fancy new MultiMeter.

I've tested all the fuses and switches - with the exception of the main fuse, and a couple of other ones I can't figure out how to remove - you know, the big square ones under the hood... Nothing is draining any unacceptable amounts.

Soooooo, What next? Do I find myself a decent electric mechanic and pay out the nose? I bought a HELM manual, and can understand most of it. I'd like to do the work myself if it's within my realm of ability.

I just need some sort of decision tree. ANY THOUGHTS, LINKS, COMMENTS, OR ADVICE ARE VASTLY APPRECIATED. How do I find the short?

ShyBoyCA6
03-30-2010, 04:15 PM
you checked the relays?? relays help the volts to get the right voltage and you check grounds??

im not an expert but it wouldnt hurt to check haha any one wanna add on to this?

Dr_Snooz
03-30-2010, 05:55 PM