PDA

View Full Version : CF hood suggestions

Dr_Snooz
07-01-2010, 09:16 PM
I'm still putting my car back together after the wreck. I got a hood from the junkyard, but it's a little more beat up than I'd like. There aren't any new OEM steel hoods around anymore, so I'm considering a carbon fiber hood.

I have no experience with them, so I'm looking for suggestions. I know fitment can be an issue on these and honestly, if it didn't fit absolutely perfectly, it would eat away at my sanity until I couldn't stand it any longer and took after it with a heat gun, pry bars, dead weight and a belt sander. Hood pins are not an option.

I might be interested in buying one used from someone if the fit was good. I plan to paint over it, so finish problems wouldn't deter me if the hood was otherwise in good shape.

Thanks all.

Hondamonster
07-01-2010, 09:46 PM
what i know of teh carbon fiberz...

they're wavy unless you get high quality ones. not sure who makes them for our cars, but i had a friend with a vis and it was wavy. hood pins are reccomended, particularly because of the lighter weight but moreso because of the fitment. the latch isn't always as easy to close as oem. another problem my buddy had with the vis... had to slam the shit out of it to make it latch. lastly, they generally don't fit as well as oem as far as body creases and gaps. hope that helped

mykwikcoupe
07-01-2010, 10:11 PM
look on ebay. last I checked 4 different places sold them, one made them. If you cant select what you want dont buy it its just a molded cheap piece. Ill try too find the one that made them. I wanted one without squirters. You want rolled edged not cut or they may and will peel and separate. The gel coat isn't the best but if you paint your good. The original group buy are the best to me still but that was 10 years ago so who knows where they are now. All will be a fiberglass structure with an overlay so that wont deter you. Good luck and report back

turabaka
07-01-2010, 11:13 PM