PDA

View Full Version : Vibrations

estooie
12-12-2010, 01:33 AM
Ok, so I'm still getting used to my car, had it a little over a month, put on 3200 miles.

I have new tires, balanced, aligned, new brakes all around. I'm still trying to figure what might be causing two vibrations from it.

One happens around 80mph, and I've had the tire place re-check the balancing, and the other shop for the alignment. It's still there.

The other happens when I push on the brakes and quickly decelerate. It's not the pedal that's vibrating, more so the whole car doing a little shuddering.

Ideas please? :dunno: Btw, I'm not a mechanic, so I might have to bring it in if it requires lifting it and removing parts

2drSE-i
12-12-2010, 09:35 AM
The one during decel may be caused by uneven brake wear or the radius rod bushings being bad. If tire alignment and balancing is good, maybe you have a warped wheel, or a jacked up frame :knock on wood:

charliekuney
12-12-2010, 10:46 AM
^ I'd count more on brakes. My car shimmied really bad when my brakes were really bad. New brakes, no shimmy.

Vanilla Sky
12-12-2010, 11:08 AM
I'd concentrate on the brakes for the decel shimmy. Your problem is most likely there. I'd attack the bushings first, though. There's always the chance that you'll cure both shimmies by replacing a few worn bushings.

Those radius rod bushings often aren't checked. If you replace them, purchase Moog bushings, as they're a fairly high durometer polyurethane.

Pico
12-12-2010, 04:12 PM
check your strut bushings also, mine we're worn really bad causing vibration.
http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v337/picopop/strutbushings.jpg

Dr_Snooz
12-12-2010, 06:04 PM
If you machine your rotors, the brake shimmy will go away. It will come back in a few thousand miles though, so whatever.

What kind of tires do you have on the car? If they aren't Michelins, then I'll say that's your 80 mph problem.

charliekuney
12-12-2010, 08:18 PM