PDA

View Full Version : crappy idle, can this be the problem?? Pic inside

rvd
03-13-2011, 08:49 PM
I bought this car like this, and I know how the lines are supposed to run, but I just dont know why this throttle actuator has been excluded, can I clean it and reinstall it? Thanks, Im new to carbs this is my first. Im thinking this is the reason my car is idling like crap.....

http://i69.photobucket.com/albums/i64/robs90tsi/IMAG0018.jpg

Buzo
03-14-2011, 07:53 PM
It's going to be more than one thing the cause of your Idle problems.

I can't see in the picture where the broken hose with a white tape is connected to, but it carryes vaccum. Replace it. Or just plugg it for testing purposes, then when your idle gets normal, you can worry about it.

The port that has a missing hose is not a vacuum source, it receives vacuum from somewhere else to open the choke plate. It won't cause you Idle issues.

rvd
03-15-2011, 05:11 AM
the hose with tape isnt going to anything, the hose overlapping the hose with tape is supposed to go to the port that has nothing on it, and the hose with tape is supposed to attach where the overlapping hose is running to now, basically whoever owned this car before me cut the actuator out of the vacuum system

Xaisk
03-15-2011, 10:22 AM
Thats very interesting. If you go to a junkyard you can find an actuator and probally the proper wires and things that are needed to reinstall it to the system. It shouldnt be more than 10 minutes to get the parts pulled. Install them to your car and see if that helps.

g.frost
03-15-2011, 12:29 PM
That thing is called a 'choke opener' and will not function the way it is hooked up. Download the manual and look up the section on vacuum connections (section 12) to sort the it out. (or if you can follow the diagram under the hood....)