PDA

View Full Version : Exhaust Manifold Leaking

Ben2045
03-28-2011, 07:33 AM
I'm hoping you guys who are oh-so much more knowledgeable than I am about the 3g's can give me some insight.

I've got an 89 Accord LX-i that I've been working on for a few months now. It's completely stock, no mods or upgrades at all. I had to get a new car for a longer commute so I decided to put this on the "project" list, taking the engine apart and replacing gaskets/seals/rings, etc. The only issue i've run into is with the exhaust manifold.

I replaced the gasket (the old one fell apart when I got it off, so about time), got the manifold and heat shield back on, EGR pipe re-attached, and started it back up. It works just rgeat for a few minutes, then smoke starts pouring out from around the mating surfaces. As near as I can tell there isn't anything underneath the manifold to leak onto the downpipe, and I know for sure there isn't anything leaking onto the top. I thought it might just be cleaning chemicals burning off, but it's not lessening as I let it run more.

Any ideas from you guys would be welcome, as this is the last bit I need to finish before I can drive it around again.

Xaisk
03-28-2011, 10:05 AM
Sounds like youve been doing some hard work on the car. The exhaust manifold gasket is easy. If it leaks after putting the new one on then you need to take it off and use a metal file to file the surface on the manifold itself flat and smooth, then on the block where it meets the manifold. Check the gasket for cracks or problems since youve ran it and it probally had time to mate and then took it off. If it checks out then put it back on with some gasket sealant. That should stop it from leaking. They generally leak if they are old. Things tend to warp, or a small chip in the block or manifold need to be filed down or a leak.

Good luck.

Ben2045
03-28-2011, 10:11 AM