PDA

View Full Version : Another newbie here :)

lelabrown
04-12-2011, 10:26 AM
I have a 1988 Honda Accord, that I love. I purchased it from a very nice man in NM about 2 years ago. He told me about this site, but I forgot to check it out. I'm here now, trying to find information on how to repair the car. It runs,but won't go into gear,ANY gear. I've checked the fluid,but it's full. The car has been sitting under a foot of snow for 6 months and I finally have a chance to attempt a repair :)

-$MOKIN-
04-12-2011, 10:37 AM
Hey does it just stay in park ? And also does it have the lock on the shifter? Its a auto right?

anaccordman
04-12-2011, 01:41 PM
Welcome lelabrown!

Enjoy this forum....it is excellent and has lots of very knowledgeable people.
And good luck with your Accord.

Bob

RallyKid
04-12-2011, 05:02 PM
yeah if its automatic and has that automatic shift lock you should be able to just put the key in there.:lock:

Dr_Snooz
04-12-2011, 06:31 PM
Welcome! I suspect your selector cable has taken a vacation. Get under the car and make sure it's still connected and not broken or kinked. Again, assuming it's an auto.

lelabrown
04-13-2011, 08:48 AM
Oh man,
I'm so sorry for not remembering to specify that it's 5 speed stickshift;manual tranny. I'm getting old and forget everything:bong:
The car starts and runs,but no matter what I do with the clutch,it won't go into any of the gears. Worse yet, the only mechanical work I've done is the simple stuff;oil changes,plug/wire/rotor cap changes,fuel injection gasket changes and CV boot packing type stuff. You'd think at 37,I'd know more by now :(

-$MOKIN-
04-13-2011, 10:32 AM
Prolly your pressure plate throw out bearing and clutch bro

Dr_Snooz
04-13-2011, 09:01 PM