PDA

View Full Version : Head Gasket

Invisibro
05-22-2011, 07:25 PM
anyone ever do there own head gasket? im going to be doing my own this summer and i would like to here how some others procedures have gone. i am a mechanic in training and have all the information and how to on how to do the head gasket. but again i would like to also hear from people who have done it before. any protips? suggestions? things to look out for?:thumbup:

RAZR
05-22-2011, 08:15 PM
here is a online manual for our cars. this manual is a life saver when ur working on our cars

http://www.pauldesign.ru/honda/shopmanual.html

Dr_Snooz
05-22-2011, 08:45 PM
I think the big trick is to remove the head with manifolds connected. It's really hard to get them off otherwise.

Invisibro
05-22-2011, 09:01 PM
here is a online manual for our cars. this manual is a life saver when ur working on our cars

http://www.pauldesign.ru/honda/shopmanual.html

will the 87 4dr manual work fine for me. i have the hatch.

lostforawhile
05-22-2011, 09:04 PM
will the 87 4dr manual work fine for me. i have the hatch.

yep it's exactly the same, it's not that bad of a job

YK86
05-23-2011, 02:47 AM
It's not too bad. Give that manual a very good read, make sure you have all the tools needed, and go at it. The head gasket was the first thing I every did on an engine when I first started tinkering with cars (it was on an 83 Accord). Don't cheap out by not resurfacing the old or "new" used head and replace all the seals while you are at it.

car6289
05-23-2011, 01:15 PM
Are you doing your head gasket for practice or do you have some issues? White smoke? Disappearing coolant? Sludgey oil?
Once it is removed get the head pressure tested if you have any issues.
If your existing head is good, get it resurfaced as YK86 suggested.
Remove all traces of old gasket off the block.
Clean the carbon off the top of your pistons, if carbon present.
Check the condition of your timing belt and replace if necessary.