PDA

View Full Version : I cant say I'm surprised but...

stillsohc87
07-18-2011, 06:25 PM
I cant say I'm surprised but rather more relieved that these cars have such a loyal following. I no longer feel irrational for lusting after my newly acquired LX-i. I have been driving (and repairing) my 1992 Civic HB DX-i for the past 6 years, she has well over 350,000 miles on her, and many many modifications (sans the original block). A couple weeks ago, on my way out of the driveway, suddenly the clutch pedal stuck to the floor! as i was careening towards the rear bumper of my mother-in-laws car (downhill sloping driveway), I mashed the brakes, and to my utter disbelief, straight to the floor with NO resistance. Luckily I keep my rear drums adjusted and was able to E-brake with an inch to spare. Situation Avoided. My love for the EG couldnt outweigh the frustrations I have been having with it, and I decided to park it when my friend mentioned to me that his dad was paying someone to tow away his old Accord. Naturally, "whats wrong with it?" was my first question. And down the rabbit hole I began to tumble. The car is a 1987 Honda Accord LX-i 4dr, champagne over brown cloth, 5spd, fuel injected, A20A3 (i think). It has power locks and windows (something i had to put in on my civic) and a sunroof, AC, and cruise (3 things the civic lacked). It has a little bit of "honda cancer" on the quarter panels, but less than 4sq inches on either side. My friend's dad had parked the car due to a leaky radiator 2 years prior to my acquisition, so to get it out of his driveway, i installed a radiator, and then ended up replacing all of the coolant bypass lines, heater hoses, and upper and lower radiator hoses and t stat (dry rot here in this humid climate happens faster than youd think). I then had to put in 2 new wheel cylinders, and shoes and drums. car drove out of his driveway, and 77 miles before the shit hit the fan. A lousy main relay left me stranded on my 2nd day of ownership, 3