PDA

View Full Version : Your Preference Of Trim Protectant?

89HatchbackLxi
03-24-2012, 05:57 PM
After giving my car a quick wash today I realized how much of a difference putting protectant on the trim (and moldings) really boosts the car's overall appearance. I've seen protectants mentioned in a few other threads on here in the past, but I don't recall anyone mentioning they use STP's "Son Of A Gun" protectant. I had used armorall on my car the first time I applied protectant to the trim, but I quickly realized it wasn't doing anything to help my car's trim while it sits in the California sun (Armor All doesn't have UV protection). That stuff also seemed to wear off after only a week. If you don't already know, that stuff is worthless. Don't ever buy it.

Anyways, I've been using STP's Son of a Gun now on my trim for the past 6 months or so, and have found the stuff works really good on 3Geez trim. I love this stuff! It lasts for a pretty long time, (though it looks best during the first few weeks after its applied). It definitely boosts the color of the trim and helps restore the look of it. I can't stand the look of my car's trim without this stuff on it. If you haven't tried it and your trim looks a bit faded, I suggest giving it a shot, it makes the trim look like it did when the car was brand new. :)

Check out the difference:
http://i1115.photobucket.com/albums/k554/Spartan_TK51/3geez/DSC05243.jpg?t=1332640339

Anybody else know of another brand that works good on their 3Geez trim?

A18A
03-24-2012, 06:08 PM
sweet, it looks good. i've seen people on here put a heat gun to their black trim with good results. i think i like what you've done better though

RAZR
03-24-2012, 06:11 PM
I use wolfgangs exterior trim sealent. It works really well

http://www.autogeek.net/wolfgang-trim-sealant.html

89HatchbackLxi
03-24-2012, 06:25 PM