PDA

View Full Version : does A20 gearbox bolt into 2g

A18A
04-10-2012, 11:15 PM
I have searched, and I found mixed answers. I'm looking at buying this Accord http://www.trademe.co.nz/Browse/Listing.aspx?id=464746205 it needs a gearbox, I have a A20 gearbox, but I am a complete 2g noob and I don't know shit about them.

2ndGenGuy
04-11-2012, 09:04 AM
That's an early 2g (pre-facelift), so no it wont bolt in. The engine has nothing in common with the A20. If it were a facelift 2g, the A20 trans would bolt up, but the axles would be smaller and would not fit the diff.

carotman
04-11-2012, 03:41 PM
2ndGenGuy, are you sure it's not a later engine in this car? It sure is pre-facelift but it says it's an 84.

Maybe it's like in Europe where they never ever got the facelift but the engine was updated.

I guess the only way to know is to have a picture of the engine in this car. As far as the axles go, it's an easy swap. You can use A20A inners on the 2g axles.

A18A
04-11-2012, 03:50 PM
i'll obtain a photo of the engine bay for yous today

2ndGenGuy
04-11-2012, 04:09 PM
The chassis on the pre-facelift car is quite different from the facelifted car. The bodies look similar, but that's where the similarities end. Check Ichiban's thread on trying to swap an A20 in to an early 2g. Swapping from the E-series engines to the A-series engines (the ES is still an A-series engine) is no basic task and is unlikely to be done by anybody but an enthusiast. That car should have an EL or EK engine in it, and the facelifted cars all have ES or EZ engines in them. They did get the facelifted 2g in Europe, I've seen lots of them.