PDA

View Full Version : Cleaning the EGR control box

crazylikeacat
06-20-2012, 12:35 PM
Hi,

Are there instructions for cleaning the components of an EGR control box? My car is a 1986 Accord LX (manual 5-speed).

Is this a reasonable alternative to having the box replaced?
best,
m

derolph
06-20-2012, 02:19 PM
Yes, it's a reasonable alternative. If you do it, you should replace the gasket. For a long write-up on this, see http://www.hondaprelude.to/forums/showthread.php?59722-How-to-Clean-your-EGR-Valve

Of course, if you conclude that the EGR valve is defective, then you'll need to replace it.

crazylikeacat
06-20-2012, 02:42 PM
Thanks but isn't the egr valve separate from the egr control box? Am I right in thinking that the box even has its own valve - the egr "control" valve, not to mention a host of solenoids and tubes? I'm a newbie so sorry if this is wrong.
-m

DBMaster
06-20-2012, 02:51 PM
Hey, Cat, what kind of Accord do you have? It's not listed in your ID. There is no control box that I know of in the fuel injected model. I always took the approach that I would rather spend the money up front and get new components rather than trying to rework tired, old stuff that was not intended to be reworked. I had EGR issues, spent $140 for a new EGR valve/sensor assembly, and never looked back.

crazylikeacat
06-20-2012, 04:15 PM
It's a 1986 Accord LX/5-speed/manual/carb i.e. not fuel injected.

I took that approach, DBM, but my replacement EGR box ($270) turned out to be incompatible with my engine. The different engine types from 1986 have different EGR boxes.

Maybe it's worth trying again, but in the meantime would like to know if there's a method for getting the EGR box cleaned and working again.

Is it more complicated than checking the internal tubes for vacuum, cleaning the solenoids and valves with carb cleaner?

-m

Vanilla Sky
06-20-2012, 05:53 PM