PDA

View Full Version : voltage?

terry
09-02-2012, 07:56 AM
i recently installed an apexi voltage stabilizer in my car, and i realise the engine is much hotter now, and all of a sudden my lights stopped working. help please?

RAZR
09-02-2012, 09:31 AM
Voltage stabilizer? Yank that shit out!

terry
09-02-2012, 06:47 PM
Oh, shit, why? Whats bad about it? Sorry im new to cars . I read abt it online

lostforawhile
09-02-2012, 07:08 PM
the only things they were good for were on race cars they kept the fuel pump voltage and ignition voltage steady, the only good ones were jacob and of course they are long gone now

terry
09-02-2012, 08:08 PM
i see, but seeing that ive already installed it now, is it ok to leave it on? i got it checked by my local mechanic just to be sure if i installed it correctly, i did and its not 'sucking electricity'. a term he used to describe a messed up VS

lostforawhile
09-02-2012, 08:19 PM
i see, but seeing that ive already installed it now, is it ok to leave it on? i got it checked by my local mechanic just to be sure if i installed it correctly, i did and its not 'sucking electricity'. a term he used to describe a messed up VS

you are just causing problems, it's not needed in this car

Vanilla Sky
09-02-2012, 08:35 PM
You wouldn't get a pacemaker implanted if your heart is healthy. In general, they try to fix the problem, not add on another system to fail. Same thing goes with cars. If it wasn't there when it was made, it's likely not needed. Get rid of the voltage regulator. At best, it does nothing, but at worst, it's causing your problems.

terry
09-02-2012, 08:37 PM
alright, i was just worried about all thew wiring around, its an import model from japan,everything is digital in the car aswell, which is becoming a pain at times, my display doesnt work, but im sorting it out one at a time, or atleast trying to :P.

Vanilla Sky
09-02-2012, 08:43 PM