PDA

View Full Version : 1987 accord circle track project

Dgaf
11-04-2012, 08:13 PM
Hi my name is ryan im new to the 3geez site. I have a1987 accord stock carburated
a20a1 no mods caged and gutted . I took it out for the last race of the year at our local circle asphalt track and was whooped up pretty good . Im looking for ways to get sum speed from this thing any tips or links to sites would help ...... Thanks.

Legend_master
11-04-2012, 09:23 PM
are there any restrictions to mods you can do to the car?

2ndGenGuy
11-05-2012, 09:22 AM
Yeah, that's the question... what are you allowed to do to the car?

2oodoor
11-05-2012, 10:32 AM
lol, your screen name sort of sounds like a Weber model number.. there's a tip lol
what size track is it?

Dgaf
11-05-2012, 06:14 PM
The no forced induction thats the only rule lol

Vanilla Sky
11-05-2012, 07:24 PM
There are a couple of roundy round racers that post to the Sanctioned Racing forum.

Where do you race? How long are the straights? Are you having any issues putting power down anywhere on the track? Can you change carburetors or any emissions controls? Is there a written rule book, or is it more "run what ya brung" racing?

Dgaf
11-05-2012, 07:47 PM
At lakeport and ukiah speedway in northern cali.. And thers no power to put to the ground lol the straight away is our about 250 to 300 feet

Vanilla Sky
11-05-2012, 08:14 PM
From the factory, a carbed Accord only made 98 HP. Against all of the Ecotec and Quad4 cars, you're pretty much screwed without some mods.

My first mod would be to perform the first vacuum removal posted here: http://www.3geez.com/forum/showthread.php?t=11067

I wouldn't convert to a manual secondary like in the other major vacuum removals.

I'd then increase the timing to the point just before you ping under hard load.

If you can install a header, I'd install one. Here are some options: