PDA

View Full Version : 89 lx is gonna put me in the crazy house

Gentry09
12-22-2012, 06:23 AM
I don't even know where to start, first of all let me make it clear that I'm not a mechanic, so any replies that sound like a service manual will only further my frustration .. lol. . I have changed the water and fuel pump, the timing belt, plugs and wires, distributor cap and button, the fuel filter at the firewall, and I have spent a fortune in sea foam trying to get it to perform like it should. . Gas mileage is good, it idles at 1000 while in gear and in park it goes to bout 1350, two steps on pedal first thing in the morning and it fires up and runs for 5 seconds and then I have to crank it again and pump the gas to keep her running until it gets warm.. it smokes and sputters for 5-8 min and warms up and idles at about 2500 until I tap the pedal and then it resumes its regular 1300.. I can deal with all of this and drive it without worrying about leaving me stranded, but wen I take off froma stoplight and rreally get on it, it sputters and bogs and won't ever kick in to that "powerband" and perform like it used to and that has got me wanting to buy a new Carb or crush it one. Lol. Its only got 126k and I'd love to drive it 200 more but I've spent too much by just throwing parts at it, I'm just posting this to see if someone can relate to my problem and say hey, u need to change the. ..... ?? The car doesn't skip or cut off after its warm, the antifreeze is topped off, new air filter, it just sucks to know that its prolly something minor I could do and it would really get up and go like it should.. any help or suggestions would be great, but if you need to know the compression on number 2 cylinder, or anything more technical than changing the valve cover gasket and minor things like that, then I guess I'm stuck with taking it to a shop and paying the guy to chase the gremlin.. its worth a shot and I am hoping to learn alot here. .

Keachman1
12-22-2012, 08:28 AM