PDA

View Full Version : 1989 Accord LXi - My first Honda.

thomson85
01-08-2013, 09:50 PM
Hello from Hemet, CA. I recently got an' 89 Accord LXi, auto trans, 187k. The trans slips but generally will stop if I floor it and let it get to about 6k RPM's. I'm going to check the accelerator cable to the trans after I replace the atf. and possibly throw in some transX.

This is my first Honda, I'm freshly coming over from the classic VW scene. I've had my Baja bug for 3 years and built it from a rolling chassis up. Giving up one addiction for a new one. I'll miss it when it's gone. but I have this Accord to play with now.

I was a diesel mechanic for 3 years in the army and have taken classes at the local college. lol. I'll get a dealership job once my GI bill expires. My point is I am fairly knowledgeable, and have experience. I love fabricating.

My plans for this white knight is to build a custom front and rear fiberglass bumpers, throw on an aftermarket exhaust, and put a hood scoop from a WRX on it.

I will upload pictures soon. but am limited on time and am using my phone right now.

Car was my wife's grandpa's, he passed away and I got it. already replaced the fuel pump and cleaned off the fuel gauge sending unit to get it working. cars completely stock right now. white exterior, maroon interior. interior is in excellent condition.

As soon as this auto trans finally goes out, I'll be doing a trans swap to 5-speed, I just feel for a 2.0L that the auto trans is holding its balls hostage.

pics soon. Glad I found this site!

http://i28.photobucket.com/albums/c205/thomsonluvsu/CAM00218.jpg

http://i28.photobucket.com/albums/c205/thomsonluvsu/CAM00027.jpg

The 2nd pic is when I first got it, I had to inspect everything as it had been sitting for 2+ years!

thomson85
01-08-2013, 10:08 PM
Just to show where I'm coming from here is my 1969 Baja bug that I've built the past 3 years.

http://i28.photobucket.com/albums/c205/thomsonluvsu/CAM00230.jpg