PDA

View Full Version : Yo No Lights in the back

TigaMan10
10-24-2002, 06:46 AM
I am new to this so bear with me if i don't know what i am doing. I drive a 86 LXI and When i turn on the head lights the parking lights don't come on. I can't seem to figure out what the problem is and i will aprecate it if any one can help me out with it. Its the parking light. so when i put my foot on the breaks the break light come on. Halla
TigaMan

markmdz89hatch
10-24-2002, 06:48 AM
so are you saying that when you press on the brakes, the brake lights DO come on, but with just the headlights on, you get no taillights?

TigaMan10
10-24-2002, 06:50 AM
Yea exactly

markmdz89hatch
10-24-2002, 06:54 AM
Check ur fuses, and ur bulbs. That sounds kinda peculiar only b/c the bulb for taillights is the same bulb for brake lights, each bulb has 2 fillaments in them, 1 for braking, 1 for tails. Make sure ur using the right bulbs, then, as I mentioned before, check both fuse panels, the one under the change tray on the left of ur dash, and the one under the hood. Sorry, I don't know remember the fuse block nums. right now.

markmdz89hatch
10-24-2002, 06:54 AM
if it's not that, it's either ur switch, or ur wires, and both are gonna suck if it comes down to that.

TigaMan10
10-24-2002, 06:57 AM
I checked the fueses, they are alright. I think you might be right about the bulb thing. I will check those out. I sure hope it ain't the switch or the wires though.

markmdz89hatch
10-24-2002, 07:05 AM
Question: Is the little BRAKE LAMP dummy light on on your instrument cluster?

RobT5580
10-24-2002, 09:08 AM