PDA

View Full Version : 1986 Honda Accord LX 2 barrel carb rebuild

djriprock
02-08-2013, 08:47 PM
I'm going to try to rebuild my carburetor for the first time. I've not messed much with carburetors and honestly did not know much about them until I ran into my current problem, which I have put a "bandaid" on but realized I needed to rebuild the carb. I have a couple questions. First, how long will rebuilding the carb take time wise assuming I'm not a complete newbie with cars. Second, from what I see there aren't any special tools I'm going to need... is this true? Third, aside from a new float and rebuild kit, anything I should get while I'm doing this? Fourth, I've seen all kinds of things on removing useless vacuum lines in the car; anyone know about this for the 86 accord LX? Thanks for the help!!

Drake

88Accord-DX
02-08-2013, 10:41 PM
I'm going to let you know that these carburetors are not easy to rebuild & personally don't think they are worth it. I had issues with mine & been down that road. It seems like all the vacuum solenoids need to be all working properly & everything has to be on point. I gave up on them & went with a weber & stage 2 vacuum removal. I never looked back & was a hard lesson to learn after many lost hours & time rebuilding these carbs. If you dig around in the carb section, you can find all you need to know about the different stages of vacuum removal. Good luck rebuilding OEM carb & getting it working right.

2oodoor
02-09-2013, 03:45 AM
Wise words 88accord-DX
And hey, the Weber is the Easiest carb ever to rebuild but as with any, cleaning it good is the hardest part.
Best way to go if you're not under strict emmisions, not that they are bad but regs don't like any modifications in some juristictions..