PDA

View Full Version : saab, eclipse turbo

Immeraufdemhund
10-31-2002, 06:21 PM
OK i heard in the twin turbo page that you can put one of those turbos in our car if you take out their stuff and put it in ours? I'm not too sure how you could do that though? could anyone elaborate?

bobafett
10-31-2002, 07:27 PM
turbos are pretty generic, and since you have to make a custom manifold to turbo our cars, ANY turbo could fit, provided there is room under the hood, and you had the right fitting/adapter. although chances are if you set it up for a DSM t25/14b that you would need a different fitting for a saab turbo. make any sense?

and please correct me if i am way off base, i am only starting to learn about the whole turbo thing!

smufguy
10-31-2002, 08:46 PM
Ur right bob. from reading all the stuff from Home made turbo.com webpage and talking to Jeff Frank (the dude from the site). its pretty clear u can put any turbo up there in ur car with just the right fittings and ur done.

Two probles with a A20 motor.

1) No off the shelf turbo manifold for us.
2) Not much of a strong motor

I dont think our motor can handle any larger boost than like 8 to 10 psi. But again, i am not sure on the numbers, Talk to Justin he would know it.
U need an engine management system so that u wont blow up ur motor. i dont know how much they are gonna run u up. BUt its not gonna be alot considering if ur planning to get the turbos from the junk off of a car.

Look into how much boost the turbo's run with the stock configuration on the car and what kinda engine they came with. The most i have seen on the Volvo are small ones that spool up real fast for low end power and torque. U can even get the ones from a nissan and see how they fix up. U also need to do custom downpipe and route the exhaust under ur front cross member.

bobafett
10-31-2002, 11:32 PM
hmm, i was wondering how the exhaust needed to be changed!

well justin is running well over 20lbs of boost, but he is FAAAAR from stock.