PDA

View Full Version : Help with 1987 LXi Repairs! Whistle and miss.

bobbyfitz
06-26-2013, 06:35 PM
Hey guys & gals. I'm new to 3geez. I have a 1987 Accord LXi that is multi-port fuel injected. Last week the car was running fine, but the sway bar bushings were shot, the brake pads needed changed, a nd the battery and spark plugs were starting to go (basically it needed a tune up). I have some VERY basic mechanical knowledge and a tool kit so I set to work. Replaced the battery first, no problem. Then, with some help, I changed the brake pads, and installed new sway bar bushings (pretty easy all things considered). We noticed the tie rod ends were very rusted so I switched those out. Then I finished by changing the spark plugs and took it for a test drive. It had a really noticeable miss to it. Especially when just starting or at a lower RPM. The car also had a "put" to it (as in "put put put put put put put"). We thought the spark plug cables may have gone bad (and it looked like they had) so we switched them out, but the miss wasn't fixed. We ordered a new distributor cap, but they sent us the wrong kind. I'm wondering if anyone can help with this issue. There is also a slight whistle when in lower RPM or just starting, but I think that may be because we removed the air filter (it was in really bad shape and we ordered a new one, I didn't notice the whistle until we took the filter out). Any help would be greatly appreciated!

Legend_master
06-26-2013, 07:56 PM
Well the whistle is most likely from removing the intake piping. The iacv tend to whistle lol. Have you looked inside the distributor cap? You can generally tell if they are worn out. Was the car running fine before you replaced the spark plugs? Where they properly gapped?

Dr_Snooz
06-26-2013, 08:16 PM
x2 on spark plug gap.

bobbyfitz
06-27-2013, 04:58 AM