PDA

View Full Version : new guy on the block

chiki1911
07-12-2013, 12:27 PM
Hi Im new to the whole blogging so i guess my question would be what would i look for when buying a third generation honda accord i like this are there any common issues to look for thanks for the info too.

Legend_master
07-12-2013, 07:17 PM
Basic stuff, brakes (rotted brake lines, wobbling steering wheel when braking, ect), suspension, transmission. 5 speeds tend to take the abuse of time better except the 5th gear. Look over all the ball joints especially the rear ones, and make sure bearings are in good order. Unless you are familiar with carburetor I would suggest getting an lxi so it will be fuel injected. Good luck on your search!

chiki1911
07-22-2013, 10:37 PM
ok thanks just bought my first third gen 1987 honda accord lx this one happens to be auto i thought i was going to hate the fact it wasnt standard but fell in love with the simple drive home so bought the car 600 bucks changed the oil and everything going to do the brakes next dont know when the last time they were done the fluid looks old so should i replace the rotors too and the drums or have them resurfaced what do you think

Dr_Snooz
07-23-2013, 08:04 PM
Congrats on the purchase! Post pics when you get a chance. For the brakes, definitely have them surfaced. If they are out of tolerance, the shop will call you and tell you so and you can buy new ones then. Also make sure to surface the new ones too or you'll have death wobbles like crazy.

Clockworkz
07-23-2013, 08:15 PM
I always replace my rotors with every brake job. If they are made to be that thick then I want them to be thick. I don't like paper thin rotors lol

And yes post some pics of the new honda!

Sent from my SPH-L900 using Tapatalk 2

MessyHonda
07-24-2013, 09:13 PM