PDA

View Full Version : Knocking noise

Hazwan
12-06-2013, 06:31 AM
I have this knocking/rattling noise that is apparent around 2000-3000rpm but quietened down on 4000rpm onwards. Heres a video Knocking sound - YouTube (http://youtu.be/xEBHX2Mzctw)

Is that piston slap? Or rod knock? How do I differentiate between them two? Or is that something else?

I do have this mark on my cylinder walls when I did my headgasket. I know I should have gone with full rebuild but money was tight (and still tight lol). I was told that it *should* be fine but then I'm a noob with engines hahah
http://i.imgur.com/SEnCdP8.jpg

I'm not keeping this engine for long anyway. I would be more than happy if it last me for a year or so but I was just curious if that noise is just piston slap or something worse.

Dr_Snooz
12-06-2013, 05:47 PM
Doesn't sound good. My 4g has piston slap and it sounds a lot more like loose valves than what you have there. Check to make sure that you don't have something rubbing against a pulley, but don't expect that to be the case. Sucks that you get to do an engine swap all across that beautiful paint you just did.

Oldblueaccord
12-07-2013, 01:52 PM
We had a GM v-6 that had bad piston slap. It would do it cold and it would oil smoke out the exhaust. Never really hurt anything and it made it way over 150,000 miles. I got rid of it by going to 10w40 Havoline oil over 5w30 that was called for. The oil pressure was always good.

I would be surprised on a Honda this was it its something with the piston design and short skirts.

That wear is unusual looking to me since its like mid stroke in the bore but not at the top. Like the piston pins loose but the orientation is wrong.

EDIT

If you just did the headgasket I would look at the valve train also,really that motor sounds awful and I think its misfiring.

2oodoor
12-07-2013, 03:57 PM