PDA

View Full Version : Brake weirdness.

Don87LX
05-15-2002, 05:54 AM
When I am comming to a stop my brakes feel normal, but when my autobox lets up and the revs drop back to idle just before I get the car stopped the pedal suddenly becomes soft, the brakeing force goes down, and extra pedal travel is required to stop the car, almost to the floor. I have full fluid and bled the system of air when I changed my pads a year ago. this is recent problem. I have a bad feeling my master cylinder is showing its age., however whith the car off after driving, if you pump the brake pedal it builds up resistanbce like it is supposed to.

DBMaster
05-15-2002, 11:56 AM
Does it tend to do it more once the engine compartment gets heated up? Mine did that when the master cylinder went bad. You end up braking with only one braking circuit (opposite wheels front and back). When the thing ages the rubber piston seals start leaking pressure a little.

Not a big or expensive job to change the thing, at least.

accordlx
05-15-2002, 06:15 PM
To me, it sounds like you have a leak in the vaccuum assist for the brakes. This is not really related to the master cylinder itself other than the master cylinder is attached to it.

The vaccuum assist is the big round black thing that the master cylinder is bolted to. I would check the bottom of the vaccuum assist for rust and check it visually underneath with a mechanics mirror. If there isn't any rust on the vaccuum assist, I would check all of the vaccuum hoses in the car.

When your car is not revved up, the vaccuum in the engine drops hence your soft pedal.

I hope this helps.

PS. If you had a soft pedal all the time, you would have a brake bleeding problem or maybe a problem with the brake proportioner. I don't sense you are having this problem.

Don87LX
05-16-2002, 04:29 AM