PDA

View Full Version : What's wrong with my car?

4DoorAccordDX
11-21-2002, 11:56 PM
OK, I am new to the whole import car scene. I have had my Accord, (87 Accoord 4 door Sedan DX 2.0L 5-speed) for about 2 months and it has ran reasonably well until today. (Brace yourself this is kinda long) I was on my way to deliver a pizza order, and the closer and closer I go to my destination the worse my car ran. At first it was a knocking sound that would increase and decrease with the RPMs. Then it started running bad. It would hardly accelerate, the knocking got louder and more frequent and it wouldn't idle at a stop. When I let off the gas the knocking would become quieter, but it would drop down to about 4-500 RPMs and then die if I didn' give it more gas. I managed to make it to my destination but I was afraid to drive it any more. I got it home on a trailer and started it, the knocking wasn't as bad until it warmed up. I popped the hood but couldn't tell exactly where the knocking was coming from. it idled alright until it warmed up, then would idle super low, around 300 RPMs. What is going on? :banghead: Also, ever since I got it, when ever I started it, it would rev to about 2k and knock kinda loud but then go away and it didn't knock unless I revved to 3k and above. Is it a valve maybe? Lifter? Only engine mod is a flipped lid. It's time for an oil change and I have been thinking about a tune up. It has 172k miles on it. Please tell me what is wrong with my car, I got it because my Ranger wasn't reliable. I don't need nor want another beater.

Thanks in advance for any and all info.

4DoorAccordDX

p.s. what does a complete tune up involve? I am a do-it-yourselfer.

socal3rdgen
11-22-2002, 12:05 AM