PDA

View Full Version : 89 Accord DX problem!

yaaagin
03-13-2014, 02:58 AM
Hey guys, i just got this car 3 days ago from an auction.
Drove the car around 18 miles ever since i bought it and when i was almost home the car started smoking.
The smoke came from around the spark plug and header area, any ideas? Ill post a video as soon as my phone stops acting up.
I also have an idling problem, it starts regular then in 30 seconds it revs and stays at 2k RPM, only when its on drive it drops to 1k

thanks this is my first time on this forum and i hope to get this car in top shape :)

PNWsail
03-13-2014, 06:05 AM
Welcome to the forum, and your new addiction. My first guess based on your description would be valve cover gasket for the smoking issue. As for the idle, look for vacuum leaks. Best thing would be to download the service manual and also use the search function of this forum. This topic has been covered many times. Have fun!

yaaagin
03-13-2014, 12:00 PM
Thanks man! i did you the search button AND google lol. everything came up different tho. okay i will, and cant wait to get it running perfectly!

Dr_Snooz
03-13-2014, 06:42 PM
x2 on valve cover gasket.

yaaagin
03-14-2014, 12:13 AM
Hey guys heres the vid! Can you check it out to see if i was right on the description. The smoke is coming from the 3rd spark plug from the left, youll see it.
By the way! Listen to that idle in the middle of the vid!

1989 Honda Accord Smoke and Idle Problem - YouTube (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=31kTuY8aSxs&feature=youtu.be)

Hope to get this runnin on the road without any problems soon so i can work on better things!

PNWsail
03-14-2014, 04:41 AM
Your video convinced me that your valve cover gasket is definitely leaking. Replace that and the mounting grommets, clean the old oil off, and I bet your smoking will be solved. As for your idle issue, look for vacuum leaks.

g.frost
03-14-2014, 08:30 AM