Page 4 of 13 FirstFirst 12345678 ... LastLast
Results 76 to 100 of 315

Thread: other ECM options

  1. #76

    NXRacer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Vehicle
    86 LXi Hatch
    Location
    Tri-Cities, WA
    Posts
    6,556
    the p06 ECU is OBDI US 92-95 Civic DX (according to hondata)
    -- Caleb --
    Nothin' 2 Old Racing



  2. #77

    Robs89LXi's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Vehicle
    '89 LXi Coupe
    Location
    Houston, Texas (Home of the Quicksilver project)
    Posts
    827
    Quote Originally Posted by NXRacer
    the p06 ECU is OBDI US 92-95 Civic DX (according to hondata)
    Oops. Sorry, I was thinking PM6.
    "Feed their greed with your need for speed"

  3. #78


    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Vehicle
    B20A SEi
    Location
    Oregon City, Oregon
    Posts
    401
    Quote Originally Posted by NXRacer
    from what i've been told the P06 is probably a better option then the P75.
    Just curious, what about the P06 makes it better?

    Gregg

  4. #79

    maka_RTH's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Vehicle
    '95 Supra, '08 CBR 600RR, '89 LX-i Coupe (R.I.P.), '88 LX-i Sedan (R.I.P.), '87 LX-i Sedan (R.I.P.)
    Location
    Orem, Utah
    Posts
    1,782
    here's an OBD-1 ecu pinout..., not sure if the P75 will be the same..., lemme look some more to see if i can find a specific P75 pinout.
    http://honda-tech.com/zerothread?id=...932539#9932539

    a couple guys here say the the p72 ecu pinout is the same as the p75, minus the vtec stuff. *edit: www.pgmfi.org also said that the p75 uses the same board as the p72..., but unsuccessful at making p75 vtec capable(that shouldn't matter for us though).

    also from www.pgmfi.org, how-to add a knock sensor to the p75

    i'm also starting to think that we could run a p72 w/out the vtec stuff hooked up, and that would already have a knock sensor capability.
    Last edited by maka_RTH; 09-23-2004 at 12:50 PM.
    Greg

    1989 LX-i 2dr 5spd (R.I.P.)

    2008 CBR 600RR -- 1995 Toyota Supra NA -- 2013 Nissan Frontier Pro-4x

  5. #80

    Justin86's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Vehicle
    88 Yota/ 62 Nova/ 06 Yamaha R1
    Location
    Medford, Oregon
    Posts
    5,018
    Well the pinouts between the P72 and P75 I think would be the same, just one has the VTEC.
    here is my stuff 94 accord dizzy, P06 ECU, OBD-1 harness, OBD-0 plugs


    I'm your local R&D nut. Fabracting, welding, tuning and breaking my stuff so you don't have to.

  6. #81

    carotman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2000
    Vehicle
    89 Accord LX/B20A | 87 Accord Hatch "S" Stock | 94 Civic Hatch CX
    Location
    Montreal South Shore
    Posts
    9,971
    haaaa finally someone is getting there!

  7. #82
    SEi User
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Vehicle
    87 hatch, stock sleeve b series gsr clone..
    Location
    south dakota
    Posts
    1,296
    yeah, im probably about to be next, I like where this is going, fuck a gm computer with non sequential injection

  8. #83


    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Vehicle
    B20A SEi
    Location
    Oregon City, Oregon
    Posts
    401
    Here is a link to some more pin-out lists:

    http://www.g2ic.com/tegtips/engine/15.html

    There is a link on there to a spreadsheet with several ECU's, including the P72 and PR4. The PR4 should be the same as a P75 (they are both OBD1 LS Integra ECU's). If you compare the P72 and PR4, you can see they are almost exactly the same.

    One nice thing about the P72, is you can use the VTEC switch to control the secondary butterfly on our 2 stage manifolds. Also, I don't know if it's been mentioned, but these ECU's want a 4 wire O2 sensor and a speed sensor. I am in the process of converting to the 4 wire for my B20A and it's not too hard.

    Gregg

  9. #84

    maka_RTH's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Vehicle
    '95 Supra, '08 CBR 600RR, '89 LX-i Coupe (R.I.P.), '88 LX-i Sedan (R.I.P.), '87 LX-i Sedan (R.I.P.)
    Location
    Orem, Utah
    Posts
    1,782
    the speed sensor is pin B18 on our ecu's. just looked it up in the pinout. does anybody know if the p72 will throw a code if the vtec stuff isn't hooked up? cuz i'm thinking if they're the same price as the p75, and come with a built in capability of a knock sensor, i might run that one.
    Greg

    1989 LX-i 2dr 5spd (R.I.P.)

    2008 CBR 600RR -- 1995 Toyota Supra NA -- 2013 Nissan Frontier Pro-4x

  10. #85

    Justin86's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Vehicle
    88 Yota/ 62 Nova/ 06 Yamaha R1
    Location
    Medford, Oregon
    Posts
    5,018
    not sure if this has been linked yet but here is the pinouts for our PJ0
    https://www.3geez.com/showthread.php?...ht=ECU+pinouts
    I'm your local R&D nut. Fabracting, welding, tuning and breaking my stuff so you don't have to.

  11. #86
    3Geez Veteran AccordEpicenter's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Vehicle
    1988 Honda Accord LX-i Turbo 2004 Acura TL 6 speed/navigation
    Location
    Ridin Dirty in New York
    Posts
    7,377
    hmm was it turboedit or uberdata that lets you use a 3 bar map sensor on the obd 0 or 1 computer? I know one of em should do that...
    429whp 362wtq A20 TURBO. A20T>*

  12. #87
    Accord of the Year - 2006

    guaynabo89's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    FL
    Posts
    4,143
    Quote Originally Posted by Justin86
    Well the pinouts between the P72 and P75 I think would be the same, just one has the VTEC.
    here is my stuff 94 accord dizzy, P06 ECU, OBD-1 harness, OBD-0 plugs




    You try mounting the distributor to the a20 yet?

  13. #88
    LX User
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Vehicle
    87 prelude si A20a3
    Location
    michigan
    Posts
    152
    88-91 civic/crx electronics are NOT the same generation as the 84-87lude/86-89accord. you'll have to trust me. i've done the obd-0 to obd-1 swap and the mpfi swap on a crx. i'm not trying to show anyone up just pointing that out. i dont want you do guys to buy a conversion harness and get screwed. if you do want to buy a harness i know that the ecu that runs the 86-87 crx si will run an a20. it's been done. i do beleive hasport does, or used to offer a conversion harness for a 86-87 rex to run the b16. would be a good starting point.

    man if i go through all this wiring and shit i'm just bustin out the welder and throwin in a b18b or something. at least then i can get wicked sweet clutches that actually hold power. who needs place racing anyway? hehe.


    -david
    Last edited by 4sillypwr; 09-25-2004 at 06:08 PM. Reason: i forgot somethin.
    87 prelude si
    87 non-turbo supra

  14. #89

    Justin86's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Vehicle
    88 Yota/ 62 Nova/ 06 Yamaha R1
    Location
    Medford, Oregon
    Posts
    5,018
    I have put it in place on an extra head, but haven't had time to make it bolt in yet.

    A B swap is still expensive to do even if you make the stuff your self, and still you have no torque like the A20 makes.
    I'm your local R&D nut. Fabracting, welding, tuning and breaking my stuff so you don't have to.

  15. #90
    LX User
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Vehicle
    87 prelude si A20a3
    Location
    michigan
    Posts
    152
    um no offense but in stock form the b18a makes 140hp 121tq compared to the 110hp 115tq that my a20a3 makes. plus i have the option of a good clutch, lsd, cams, etc... a typical boosted b18a on stock internals will make between 200-250hp 185-235 tq. nothing to sneeze at. i can buy a complete running DA teg with a shit body for around 1k.

    -david
    87 prelude si
    87 non-turbo supra

  16. #91

    carotman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2000
    Vehicle
    89 Accord LX/B20A | 87 Accord Hatch "S" Stock | 94 Civic Hatch CX
    Location
    Montreal South Shore
    Posts
    9,971
    The VSS wiring could be problematic.... I found some threads on Honda-Tech tough.

    Here is what I found
    http://www.classictiger.com/HondaCRX...g_analysis.htm

    I don't know if the OBD-1 VSS would be more compatible than this but that conversion seems to do the job for sure.

  17. #92


    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Vehicle
    B20A SEi
    Location
    Oregon City, Oregon
    Posts
    401
    Quote Originally Posted by carotman
    The VSS wiring could be problematic.... I found some threads on Honda-Tech tough.

    Here is what I found
    http://www.classictiger.com/HondaCRX...g_analysis.htm

    I don't know if the OBD-1 VSS would be more compatible than this but that conversion seems to do the job for sure.
    That's an interesting read, those guys know their electronics a hell of a lot better than I and they seem to have sorted it out. I actually did some testing on my VSS signal this weekend and it appears the same as yours, Carot, i.e. pulsing 0-5 volts. So I just moved the ECU B16 wire to the B18 position and my CEL went away.

    After reading that article, I am wondering what the difference between the 88-89 PK2 and 90-91 PK2 might be. The 88-89 Preludes used a speed sensor mounted in the speedo, like ours, while the 90-91 Preludes had it mounted on the tranny and did not use a speedo cable. The 90-91 Preludes also used a PK3 (for the B21) which is an OBD1 ECU. I bet the 90-91 PK2 and PK3 use that new style VSS and the 88-89 use the old style. This would explain why some of the Prelude guys can just use a OBD0-OBD1 conversion harness and plug in a P75/PR4 OBD1 ECU and have it work fine.

    I know my PK2 is from an 89, which would explain why it works fine with my VSS. This may also explain why Openloop had problems with their PK2, if they were using a 90-91 version.

    In any case, it looks to be fairly straightforward to make our VSS compatible with OBD1, which is good!

    Gregg

  18. #93
    Accord of the Year - 2006

    guaynabo89's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    FL
    Posts
    4,143
    Quote Originally Posted by carotman
    The VSS wiring could be problematic.... I found some threads on Honda-Tech tough.

    Here is what I found
    http://www.classictiger.com/HondaCRX...g_analysis.htm

    I don't know if the OBD-1 VSS would be more compatible than this but that conversion seems to do the job for sure.

    QUestion is will the same 6k pull up resistor work on the Accord vss signal or would we need a different value?

  19. #94

    carotman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2000
    Vehicle
    89 Accord LX/B20A | 87 Accord Hatch "S" Stock | 94 Civic Hatch CX
    Location
    Montreal South Shore
    Posts
    9,971
    Same 6k resistor

    I did alot of research on that OBD-1 conversion and the VSS is the only thing that needs to be modified on most cars. Of course, you still need to add wires for the O2 Heater , the crank sensor and stuff like that... It's nothing big so far.

    Gregg, I'm glad you finally swapped the pins. It works like a charm after this.

  20. #95
    Accord of the Year - 2006

    guaynabo89's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    FL
    Posts
    4,143
    I need to read up on this cause Im just recently thinking about doing this on the a20 to improve its tunablty and responsiveness to mods.
    The only thing that I see as the most dificult is finding a obd-1 distributor to fit or make fit on the a20 head.

    Hey carot... You happen to know if any of the obd-1 cars came non vtec with a knock sensor?

  21. #96

    maka_RTH's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Vehicle
    '95 Supra, '08 CBR 600RR, '89 LX-i Coupe (R.I.P.), '88 LX-i Sedan (R.I.P.), '87 LX-i Sedan (R.I.P.)
    Location
    Orem, Utah
    Posts
    1,782
    from what i've seen, the only cars that came with a knock sensor were vtec. i don't know that i've looked at every ecu, but i know i've seen the most common ones(i was looking for the same thing, which is why i wonder if we could rig a vtec ecu without using vtec...)
    Greg

    1989 LX-i 2dr 5spd (R.I.P.)

    2008 CBR 600RR -- 1995 Toyota Supra NA -- 2013 Nissan Frontier Pro-4x

  22. #97
    Accord of the Year - 2006

    guaynabo89's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    FL
    Posts
    4,143
    Quote Originally Posted by maka_RTH
    from what i've seen, the only cars that came with a knock sensor were vtec. i don't know that i've looked at every ecu, but i know i've seen the most common ones(i was looking for the same thing, which is why i wonder if we could rig a vtec ecu without using vtec...)
    I wonder the same thing but would it throw a code withut being able to activate the vtec is the question. If not than I would definalty try a vtec ecu for converting the Accord just for the knock sensor.


    Hey were you bidding on a p75 ecu last night that the seller took off?

  23. #98

    maka_RTH's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Vehicle
    '95 Supra, '08 CBR 600RR, '89 LX-i Coupe (R.I.P.), '88 LX-i Sedan (R.I.P.), '87 LX-i Sedan (R.I.P.)
    Location
    Orem, Utah
    Posts
    1,782
    yah, that was me. it kinda pissed me off, it was gonna be cheap, so he took it off. were you the otehr guy that had bid?
    Greg

    1989 LX-i 2dr 5spd (R.I.P.)

    2008 CBR 600RR -- 1995 Toyota Supra NA -- 2013 Nissan Frontier Pro-4x

  24. #99
    Accord of the Year - 2006

    guaynabo89's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    FL
    Posts
    4,143
    Yeha I found it right before it ended and bid. I guess the guy didnt want to let it go for so cheap. lol

  25. #100

    carotman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2000
    Vehicle
    89 Accord LX/B20A | 87 Accord Hatch "S" Stock | 94 Civic Hatch CX
    Location
    Montreal South Shore
    Posts
    9,971
    The H23A came with a knock sensor. The P13 and P14 ECU will have the knock board inside them. That knock board can be transfered to any Civic/Integra ECU to make it work I guess.

    Getting a P14 and P06 ECU shouldn't be that expensive... the P72 is really expensive.

    The guys on PGM-FI.org said that the knock detection in Honda ECUs wasn't so great..

Similar Threads

  1. What are my options?
    By SettleMoore in forum Classic Honda Community Chat
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 02-21-2011, 11:17 PM
  2. Options
    By Jade in forum Interior & Exterior Care
    Replies: 18
    Last Post: 11-12-2003, 09:44 PM
  3. Options
    By Jade in forum Classic Honda Pics & Videos
    Replies: 17
    Last Post: 11-12-2003, 09:25 PM
  4. other options for efi !
    By Sean in forum Performance
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 07-06-2002, 09:43 PM
  5. What are my options
    By 3rdGenMartyr in forum General Engine Swaps
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 06-11-2002, 12:58 PM

Bookmarks

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
VigLink badge