Thread: replacing all drive belts

Vehicle
    89 Accord DX

replacing all drive belts

My belts squealed at me so i need to change them. The drive belts are showing wear, so I'm guessing the timing belt needs some love. I need some advice, this is my first time doing a timing belt. I have the Haynes manual but for some reason i don't think that the job is as easy as it sounds in that manual.

1. Should i replace the oil seals. I don't think that they are leaking. Should i buy them anyways and return them if i don't need them?

2. It sound like the water pump is externally driven. Is that true?
    If i for go replacing it now then it breaks, how hard would it be to replace.

3. The Haynes manual doesn't say the direction of engine rotation. I may have missed it, but it states that the distributor rotates clockwise. Does that mean the engine rotates counter clockwise?

4. Once the drive belts are off, how hard is it to get to the timing belt from there?

5. What quality parts should i buy?
    I was thinking about doing the gates timing belt, but going the lower quality belts for the other ones.
    There are about 5 different crank and cam seals as well to choose from. One of each seems to have other hardware that i cannot identify and are like 25 bucks each.

I'm kind of pressed for cash, so any advice is greatly appreciated.

Vehicle
    86 Honda Prelude

Re: replacing all drive belts

1) Always replace the seals as if it leaks later you'd be kicking yourself for not replacing it now while everything is out. Unless you don't mind doing the whole thing again

2) Water pump is driven by the alternator belt. Should be easier to replace it now when every other belt is off too

3) Correct. The engine rotates counter clockwise

4) Getting the crank pulley off might be a pain if you don't have an impact wrench but the rest is pretty easy. Its hidden behind the timing belt cover obviously

5) Can't help with the parts but other guys might have suggestions for you