Thread: 89 accord tranny swap question

DX User
    Vehicle
    89 Accord Lxi

89 accord tranny swap question

So i just bought an 89 honda accord that needs a new tranny. It still runs and drives but the tranny has a hard time shifting from 1st to 2nd gear then usually slips out about 5 seconds after i shift. then i let off the gas for a second and it catches again. anyhow, i was planning on getting a used tranny at a junkyard and swapping it myself, however while i was at the auto parts store today one of the guys who works there who used to work at a tranny shop told me that if i dont have any experience swapping honda tranny's out that i shouldn't because there's a high chance I could "stack the pump". I was just wondering if this is a common issue, how easily can it be avoided, etc. Ive never done a tranny before but im an automotive student and have some moderate knowledge when it comes to cars. Thanks in advance!

Vehicle
    1989 Accord LX-i

Re: 89 accord tranny swap question

I'll give him 2 points for creativity. Zero points for accuracy though. Download the manual (https://www.dropbox.com/sh/vtyhl48z5...udl0xk_Oa?dl=0), read up on the swap, then go do it. When you're done you can tell him that you didn't stack the pump, but he DID stack it higher and deeper...
    Dr_Snooz

"I like to take hammers, and just break stuff, just break stuff." - Beavis

1989 Honda Accord LX-i Coupe, 240k miles, MT swap, rear disc swap

Shop manual downloads available here: CLICK TO VIEW

DX User
    Vehicle
    89 Accord Lxi

Quote Originally Posted by Dr_Snooz View Post
    I'll give him 2 points for creativity. Zero points for accuracy though. Download the manual (https://www.dropbox.com/sh/vtyhl48z5...udl0xk_Oa?dl=0), read up on the swap, then go do it. When you're done you can tell him that you didn't stack the pump, but he DID stack it higher and deeper...