Thread: New to the group, need guidance!!!

DX User
    Vehicle
    88 Honda Accord LXi

New to the group, need guidance!!!

New to the forum. I have a 88 accord lxi. I picked the car up for $350 running and driving. i do think it needs a head gasket and a few other parts. Bought the car for fun. I want to turn it into a little monster. Any and all suggestions on where to start with the little monster project are very much appreciated. Like I said I am new to the page and I am a 3rd gen fan. I do know that there are not many options when it comes to performance parts and aftermarket parts, again I say any information or opinions on where to start would be great.

DX User
    Vehicle
    89 accord dx

Re: New to the group, need guidance!!!

Greetings. Do you have smog laws over there in South Carolina? Engine mods drastically raise the price & limit locations when smog date comes around- word of warning.

First, make sure everything is in factory working order...this helps you learn your car's inner working & make it reliable.

Word of the wise-- Replacing a head gasket does not usually solve your head gasket problems. Also, if the head gasket had a coolant leak, cat usually needs replaced (or removed if you do not have smog). Usually there is a reason why the gasket failed in the first place. I am now on my 3rd headgasket (including original in that total)-- here are my experiences:

1)coolant leak from whoknowswhere... I replaced the head with a reman from ebay ODYSSA or something & new german head gasket. This happened the week after I bought the car @200k miles, right after I passed smog& installed headers & K&N (I have a carburetor) without adjusting fuel for my new lean conditions

2) intake manifold came loose @95mph, head gasket blew between piston 2&3. Car ran & idled shittily, and would not make more than 70mph on a light hill