Thread: Carb tuning for high altitude.

DX User

Carb tuning for high altitude.

Hello, I have a 1986 Honda Accord that lived at sea level it's whole life. We just purchased the car and brought it to Denver (5600 ft elavation). The car runs rich.
    I've downloaded the shop manual and went through it but can't find any information on the jet sizing or adjustments other than the idle speed.

Can any one help provide more information about air and fuel adjustments, their locations on the factory carb, jet location, parts number for leaner jets or any other information.

I'm not new to tuning carbs, but I've never worked with this honda carb before, and am lacking good support material.
    Last edited by conway; 02-25-2016 at 04:57 PM.

Vehicle
    88 LXi

Re: Carb tuning for high altitude.

Quote Originally Posted by conway View Post
    Hello, I have a 1986 Honda Accord that lived at sea level it's whole life. We just purchased the car and brought it to Denver (5600 ft elavation). The car runs rich.
    I've downloaded the shop manual and went through it but can't find any information on the jet sizing or adjustments other than the idle speed.

Can any one help provide more information about air and fuel adjustments, their locations on the factory carb, jet location, parts number for leaner jets or any other information.

I'm not new to tuning carbs, but I've never worked with this honda carb before, and am lacking good support material.

Picture of the car for reference.

Attachment 7299
    Nice looking car.

I do not think there are jets available for our carbs but im sure they sold them at your altitude just not sure what they did to get them to run.
    1988 Lxi owner since August 1995
    336k miles running strong!
    Now running E85.

Oldblueaccord <<< MY YOUTUBE PAGE!

DX User