Thread: Upper Ball Joint Replacement

Vehicle
    1989 240sx FB,

Upper Ball Joint Replacement

Alright, all 4 upper ball joints are bad, and I need to replace them. Can someone walk me through the steps so i don't f*** anything up. I did the search, and found out some info from previous posts, but since I'm new to these things, I'd rather get a step-by-step post. Thanks everyone.

Alex

edit: Can I also get part numbers and stores to get the ball joints cheap from. So far rockauto.com seems to be the cheapest place, I'd just like to verify some part numbers so i don't get the wrong stuff.
    Last edited by 86AccordLxi; 02-17-2003 at 04:36 PM.

Vehicle
    88 LX 5-speed Sedan
    I'm gonna replace my front upper ball joints (control arms w/joints) tomorrow with the Moog replacements from rockauto. They ran about $61 each, not including the bushings for about $23 each. I got them today, and they are quality Japanese stuff. I'm not 100% sure you have to replace the bushings, but I ordered new ones anyway to be sure. If they are still good, you can have the old ones if yours are shot. I'll be an expert after tomorrow.

From the service manual, you basically:
    1. lift the car
    2. wire the knuckle to the spring so it doesn't flop
    3. separate the upper ball joint from the knuckle
    4. undo the 2 bolts in the engine bay
    5. remove the control arm
    6. disassemble the bolt & remove the control arm bushings for reuse if they are tight.
    7. grease it ALL back up and seal the underside of the bolt head and the nut before you tighten it back up with the bolts heading the same way to 40 lb/ft.
    8. reinstall the arm to the body and tighten the nuts to 53 lb/ft
    9. install the arm to the knuckle and tighten the castle nut to 32 lb/ft & replace the cotter pin
    10. take the wire off the knuckle
    11. put the wheel back on
    12. get thee to the alignment shop ASAP (at least I'm going to)