Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Thinking of making the 88 the daily business car again.

Vehicle
    1988 Honda Accord DX, 250,000 Miles, Daily Driver

Thinking of making the 88 the daily business car again.

Share your thoughts with me.

I have two cars. 2000 Honda Insight, 1988 Accord, both are manual by the way. I'm having a hard time justifying owning two cars and am trying to minimize the amount I own so I don't have to spend more time maintaining everything. So the Insight is a great little car but it has its flaws, it does MPG really well 65mpg city but it doesn't really do anything else well such as ride comfort, noise level, power, 2 seats, etc. I'm considering selling the Insight and could get about 4.5k for it. Now, can I make a 31 year old car my daily business driver? I am a computer tech and drive all over the city in northen Indiana. The accord does need a few things sorted out first which i plan on fixing anyways, oil drip so i can park on driveways, wheel well rust / rust proofing. Of course it needs a bunch of other little things to make it perfect but i was going to do those anyways but would be able to make it better faster if i actually drove it and needed it.

Some negatives for the accord
    -no AC, i often sit in the car in the summer working on a computer remotely before my next appointment. I did rip the AC out years ago and i guess i could put it back in and upgrade it to R34
    -parts availability, i could overnight parts if i needed but they need to actually be available to ship in the first place

Some positives for the accord
    -converted to FI for driveability
    -5 seats, not enough for my 5 kids but better than only 1 extra seat in the Insight
    -Engine and tranny are rebuilt