Thread: Need a bit of help from experienced 3geez mechanics re:an idle problem.

Vehicle
    '73 Datsun 240Z/'91 300ZXTT

Need a bit of help from experienced 3geez mechanics re:an idle problem.

Well this is dealing with the LX-i hatch, and it has the surging idle thing going on where while sitting still the idle just goes up and down, up and down between almost stalling and about 1500-2000 RPM. I know that others have had this same thing, and I know that everyone says it is probably the fast-idle air valve, or a vaccum leak, or the PCV valve, or a fuel pressure regulator problem, or one of the many parts of the emmissions control system. Anyway, my question is, without replacing half my car unnecessarily, how do I pinpoint the exact cause so I will know what thing to mess with? I do work on my cars quite a bit so I'm not a total noob, but I get tired of replacing a bunch of stuff I didn't have to so if you guys can give me a simple testing procedure for the obvious stuff like the FIAV it would be greatly appreciated. Thanks!
    KaMi's 1988 Honda Accord LX-I 5-Spd Hatch
    "Light travels faster than sound. This is why some people appear bright until you hear them speak."

Vehicle
    88 Yota/ 62 Nova/ 06 Yamaha R1
    Well is the ECU throwing out ant codes. My was throwing a code 12 EGR and I took it off and cleaned it up, then my car ran fine. Before it would surge and then it would die.
    I'm your local R&D nut. Fabracting, welding, tuning and breaking my stuff so you don't have to.

Vehicle
    '73 Datsun 240Z/'91 300ZXTT
    Hey thanks justin I didn't even think to check for error codes. I've never tried to check any codes on a 3g though, and I don't have a code reader, so what do i need to get/do to check it?
    KaMi's 1988 Honda Accord LX-I 5-Spd Hatch
    "Light travels faster than sound. This is why some people appear bright until you hear them speak."

Vehicle
    89 EX-i, 88 Accord LX (parts car)