Thread: B18C swap?

Vehicle
    '88 LX Sedan

B18C swap?

Greets,

I've read over a lot of the materials and I know a GSR swap is possible. My only questions is since my car is OBD-0, what would be needed to make my car compliant with the b18c? I will be looking for an OBD-1 b18c engine to swap in.

Also, will it be necessary to change the ECU to a b18c ECU? I would like to so I can make the most of my new engine (including VTEC if possible), but I am unsure if this is necessary or if a wiring harness is all that is required for the ECU.

Does anyone know the effect on the diagnostics system and sensors in my car utilizing a b18c ECU? I've never done a swap before so I'm trying to get as much information as possible before I attempt it on my '88 LX.

Thanks in advance for the help. My a20a is getting on in the years and for the money it's going to take to fix the engine, I'd really like to just invest that into a better non-broken engine.
    1988 Accord LX Sedan 5-spd (A20A1)
    1995 Del Sol VTEC (B16A3)

Vehicle
    1988 / Honda / Accord / LX-R

Re: B18C swap?

Originally posted by Plastic_Fork
    Greets,

I've read over a lot of the materials and I know a GSR swap is possible. My only questions is since my car is OBD-0, what would be needed to make my car compliant with the b18c? I will be looking for an OBD-1 b18c engine to swap in.

Also, will it be necessary to change the ECU to a b18c ECU? I would like to so I can make the most of my new engine (including VTEC if possible), but I am unsure if this is necessary or if a wiring harness is all that is required for the ECU.

Does anyone know the effect on the diagnostics system and sensors in my car utilizing a b18c ECU? I've never done a swap before so I'm trying to get as much information as possible before I attempt it on my '88 LX.