Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Some advice needed for an upcoming 3g owner..

Vehicle
    1990 CRX, 1992 Honda Civic DX (sold, then stolen! :(), 1988 Honda Accord LX (sold + missed :()

Some advice needed for an upcoming 3g owner..

Okay, well soon i'll be buying an 88 Accord LXi. I want to get these rims:

http://www.buywheelstoday.com/products/?id=303

They have the required bolt pattern, 4x100, as well as 4x114.3.. And then i want to get these tires:

http://www.tirerack.com/tires/tires....mpare1=yes.com

They're 205/50/16. They're also the cheapest i can find, which is why i want them. I've read alot that 205/50/16 might cause the tires to rub, but then i read the following post taht says the bigger tires may actually make the speed readout more accurate:

https://www.3geez.com/showpost.php?p=448830&postcount=14

This has gotten me all confused. Am i really safe buying these bigger tires, and will they really make my speedometer more accurate?

Also, i'm really new to cars, as this will be my first car (that i own), and i've never done any type of mods to any cars.. But i wanted to lower this one, and wanted to know what's the cheapest and best way to go about doing it. Think anyone can help me out on this?

Thanks a bunch guys!

Vehicle
    86 LXi Hatch
    the only time you're speedo will change is if your wheel and tire combo changes the outside diameter from stock. as long as you dont go bigger then a 17" wheel with a low profile tire, it should be the same. The bigger wheel plus the lower profile tire should keep you right about the same outside diameter as the stock wheel and tire combo.

Those tires are an OK choice, but i'd think about going with the ecsta 712's. They handle water better and they have better traction IMO. You might have rubbing issues with a 205 tire. I wanted to go wider then a 195 but since i was lowered so much it would rub. If you're not lowered much (or at all) then you should be able to run a 205 without much problem.