Thread: 3rd Generation Honda Engine Swaps - Pros and Cons

Vehicle
    Manual 89 Se-i Accord

3rd Generation Honda Engine Swaps - Pros and Cons

I have been reading up on the available swaps for the 3rd Generation Honda Accord, as suggested all over the forums.

This is what I have come up with as a short list of pros and cons for different commonly available or talked about engine swaps. I made it for myself, but figured it might be useful to the rest of the community.

Some Information was taken from http://www.qtronics.net/HondaEngineSpecs.htm , and from all over the 3geez, and other honda swap forums.

I have no experience with engine swaps myself, all of this is taken from what others have said. If I have something down wrong, or something is missing please let me know so I can edit the list.

• Standard A20:

- Little or no aftermarket support. What aftermarket support there is, is expensive.
    - Custom/Expensive Exhaust Manifold Needed for Boost
    + B series Intake can easily be Installed
    + Manual transmission can take Integra gears
    + Cast Iron Block (Handles low boost stock)

• All Swaps:

- Need New Transmission
    - New or Modified electrical Harness

• Accord B20A (NOT the prelude B20A, Doesn't count as a "real" B series Engine)

- Expensive, Must be imported (in USA)
    - Hard to Find, and hard to find parts for (in USA)
    - Little or no aftermarket support. What aftermarket support there is, is expensive.
    - Custom/Expensive Exhaust Manifold Needed for Boost
    + Cast Iron Block (Handles low boost stock, maybe 15 PSI if tuned right and in good condition) (Edited)
    + Old Engine Mounts are fine.
    + More torque than B18, A lot more than B16
    + Similar HP to B16, but slightly less HP than B18

• B Series Swaps, General:

- Needs New Axels (Integra Axel with Accord CV should work)
    - Needs new Engine mounts (Take B series mounts and weld them to a plate and mount it for the mounts that do not line up)