Thread: 1987 accord dx questions

1987 accord dx questions

i'm very new at diy car maintenance and need some help.
    1. why do i smell gas while i'm driving?
    2. why doesn't my cigarette lighter work?
    3. why is the coolant reserve tank "boiling" when i turn the car off?

can anyone help??

LX User
    Vehicle
    1988 Honda Accord Lxi

Re: 1987 accord dx questions

Well the gas smell could be your carb or FI could be set to rich or your engine is getting flooded or you have a leak in exhaust or gas line..

The cig lighter not working well it has either a switched or a constant running to it and a ground wire so maybe u just need to check or wires make sure its grounded good to some metal part of the car or maybe you just need to replace it...

If your coolant Res tank is boiling then your car is over heating... Thermo stat could be stuck... Engine cooling fans might not be working.. Your coolant system could be all stopped up and it might need to be bore out...

I'm not a master at this stuff but thats a ruff start :P

Vehicle
    01 Civic lx auto; 03 Accord EX

the gas smell could be cause by leaking carb. You can remove the air filter box and see if you find any wet spots around the carburator or fuel lines. Just smell under the hood, and you will most likely will find the leak.

cig lighter, check all the fuses. if the fuses are good, you may want to remove the lighter it self and check the wires on the back of it. To remove it, all you have to do is unscrew the crome (metal) ring.

If your coolant is boiling over, you may want to get new radiator cap. I know that a few guys on this board had this problem and replacing the radiator cap helped them. It is not your thermostat because it opens when it gets hot.

Do the things i just mentioned and if you still have problems or run into more of them, please ask. We are here to help.
    Alex.

DX User
    Vehicle
    1990 Dodge Grand Caravan SE